Rainy Day Grill


It’s been raining non-stop since yesterday evening.  Every time I’ve gone outside I’ve had to wear my poncho to keep dry.  This is the poncho with the neck hole just slightly too small, and a rain hood hole even smaller.  When I put it on I feel like a midwife should be standing by to grab my head.  It fits the rest of me OK, except it’s a poncho so my arms stick out too far.  Anyway, Chili didn’t recognize me the first time I wore it and barked at me like I was the boogeyman.

The creek is coming back up and all kinds of stuff is floating by.  I saw a wheel with tire go floating down stream a couple of days ago.  Today I was feeding the dogs and when I looked out the window and a whole tree was floating downstream.  I dug out my camera and got it hitting the sycamore tree just downstream:

That’s the biggest thing I’ve seen go by yet.  Notice all the logs that got caught on the sycamore tree when the creek was up over the weekend?  Every time the creek rises it changes the view.

Here’s the view from the deck while I was warming up the grill to cook some potatoes and cheese burgers for supper:

view from the deckThe view is great, even with the rain and fog.  The burgers and the potatoes were delicious:

Grilled Potatoes

Ingredients

  • two small potatoes
  • olive oil
  • garlic salt
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions

Wash the potatoes and slice them about a ¼ of an inch thick.  You can peel them if you like, but I like the skins on.

Dry the potato slices off and use a brush or a paper towel to brush each side of the potato slices with the olive oil.  Then sprinkle on garlic salt, salt, and pepper to taste.

Place the slices on the grill about five minutes before you put on your burgers or hot dogs.  They’ll take longer to cook and need a little head start.  Turn the potato slices about every five minutes until your meat is done.  Get your meat off first and then take the potato slices off the grill and enjoy.

Hope it quits raining tomorrow but the weather man says I got a 50/50 chance.  Better than nothing.

Bon Appétit…

One Reply to “Rainy Day Grill”

Leave a Reply

