Finger Food


Surprise.  In spite of the title, there’s no recipe in this rant.  This is about my frustration over the fact that I can no longer eat with my hands!

I have a great dentist.  This is not his fault.  Dr. Brown and the people who work for him are just the messengers, and the message is, “baby” your temporary.  I had an old root canal prepared for a crown on Tuesday.  Now I have a temporary crown until April, when the permanent crown will be installed.  That means I’m not supposed to bite things with my front teeth.

I’ve discovered that just about everything I eat, I eat with my hands.  When you eat with your hands, you have to bite. Sandwiches, apples, corn on the cob, egg rolls, home-made pizza, pretzels, cheeseburgers, hot dogs, corn dogs, and the list goes on.  It’s agonizing to have to cut a ham sandwich into bites.  The same goes for pizza.  I even had to cut up the soft tacos I made for lunch yesterday.

On the other hand this could be a wake up call that maybe my diet’s not all it should be.  I still have smoothies for breakfast and there’s green stuff in them.  When I eat at Golden Corral I make room for green beans on at least one plate.  Besides, have you ever tried to eat salad with your fingers?  It’s not pretty.  I’ll probably hit the snooze button on this wake up call.

So until April, I cut and chew and whine.  There’s some good news though.  You don’t have to bite off Cheese Whiz!

Leave a Reply

