It’s morel time


While I (in my role as assistant Easter bunny) was hiding eggs in the rain Sunday morning, I spotted a morel hiding back behind the barn. big morels Yesterday about dark I decided I better pick it before I forgot where it was.  Then this morning I want looking in the daylight and found three more.  I don’t know which species these are but I didn’t find any smaller than five or six inches.  They were big ones.  I put the spoon in this picture for some perspective.

While I was looking this morning I found lots of other fungi, but only those four morels:

       

        

Just google morels and you’ll get more recipes than you can shake a stick at.  In my opinion simple is best.  I lightly floured the morels, and sautéed them in olive oil and butter.  Too bad they’re only around for a few weeks.  They’re delicious.

Later…

Leave a Reply

