Digital Photography Tweaks – The Tools


There are lots of programs you can use to tweak your digital photos. Most digital cameras will come with some kind of photo editing program. The photo editor most people automatically think of is Adobe Photoshop. People use “photoshopping” as a generic term, because Photoshop the most well know photo editor. You can even buy Adobe Photoshop at Walmart, but it’s still $699.00. That’s not in my price range.

There are more affordable programs that can do the same kinds of manipulations to your pictures. Some are even free. I’m going to list two that I use, but there are many others. Just use a little google magic and you can find dozens.

PSP X6

The photo editor that I use the most is one I’ve used for many years. It’s Corel PaintShop Pro. PSP is up to version X6 now. One of the nice things about PSP is the price. It’s $39.99 right now. That is definitely in my price range.

Another full featured photo editor is GIMP. GIMP stands for GNU Image Manipulation Program. GIMP is on version 2.8.2 now. The price of GIMP is even better, it’s free. Most people don’t find GIMP intuitive, but free can make up for a multitude of sins.

gimp282

I’ll be going through the basic tweaks I mentioned in my last post, using examples from PSP and GIMP. The general principles will apply to whatever photo editor you want to use. If you have another editor you want tips on, you can google your questions, or let me know, and if the editor’s free, I’ll do what I can to help you out.

Meanwhile, there are online videos, for both PSP and GIMP, that can introduce you to the programs. That might help you decide what tools you want to use.

Later.

Leave a Reply

