Make Concealed Carry Simple


The weather today is awful. I’ve been going through my magazine stack (the reading kind) and ran across an article in the October Concealed Carry Magazine titled Conditions of Readiness. It’s about how to carry a 1911 pistol so it’s quick to access and use. It talks about different conditions the gun can be carried in, and which is best for concealed carry.

I used the 1911 when I was in the Marines. I carried the pistol on duty, in the field, but not in combat. I shot it and liked it, but that was over 40 years ago. Why worry about conditions like hammer down, hammer cocked, round chambered, safety on, proper grip to engage the grip safety, etc., when they make pistols that don’t have any of those complications?

I have two pistols designed specifically for concealed carry. I have a Ruger LCP and a Glock 33. They’re both simple clean reliable designs. No safeties or external hammer to worry about. As long as I have a round chambered, I’m cocked, locked, and ready to go. I just pull the pistol and shoot. The 1911 is a great gun, but for consistency and fast access, why deal with all the clutter?

guncontrol

And for those people with so little faith in their accuracy that they need a big bad .45 to feel safe, the Glock 36 will give you that piece of mind. What I suggest though, is spending more time at the range. Hitting what you shoot at is more important than the size of the slug you’re shooting.

Later.

Leave a Reply

