Down the Rabbit Hole – Big Lie


An article in the news today is headlined: The Big Lie: 5.6% Unemployment People will read this Gallup article and wonder why they never heard of the big lie before. People will read it and think the writer exaggerates. It’s not an exaggeration. The job numbers reported in this country are a big lie.

jobline

I finally have a job. I’m back in the work force. But five years ago I’d never have considered that I’d be thrilled to have a job working half-time, for less than a fourth of what I was making then. I mean thrilled, because this is the first job I’ve been able to find since 2011, that uses the skills I honed over almost 40 years. I’m still part of that big lie, but I’m one of the lucky ones. I’m lucky to have a part-time job.

Don’t look down your nose at people on public assistance. Don’t disparage struggling citizens who need help, in what the media and the administration claim are good times. Instead look to the liars in Washington. The liars who expect us to be thrilled with the crumbs the political class leave on the table. If the news is bad, fix the problem. Don’t whitewash the bad news. Meanwhile the truth of unemployment continues to eat away at American society.

Should we blame the sycophantic media? Yes, but don’t forget the administration that tells them what to report. I don’t care what party they belong to. Don’t elect the liars to office ever again. And remember, don’t believe what you read in the papers, hear on the radio, or watch on your TV. Be willing to work to get at the truth. Unemployment isn’t the only big lie. There are lots of lies down that rabbit hole.

Leave a Reply

